Siggaard won the Belgian spring classic in a bunch sprint

Team VIRTU Dane, Christina Siggaard showed everyone in Saturday´s 122 kilometer long Belgian cobblestone classic, Omloop Het Nieuwsblad that VIRTU is a team to be reckoned with in 2018 after a strong effort throughout the whole day.

Christina Siggard was relieved and happy after the team succes:

“This is so surreal. I have a hard time actually understanding that it really happened. It was the result of having the best team around me. Everyone has been so professional and supportive and my teammates were there for me until the finale and I had Carmen (Small) in my ear to guide me through the entire race. I’m so happy and this is, of course a result of a super team effort”.

DS, Carmen Small says:

“Christina was feeling strong and made the cut into the first group a few times before the Sunweb girls closed it down. However, once again Chris made it in to the select group of about 25 riders who made it to the finish for the sprint. She was so eager and could hardly wait for the sprint but she remained cool and obviously, she made the right decision to go for the sprint. This is a dream come true for us. Naturally, a spring classic victory was one of our goals and it’s so satisfying to have achieved that goal so soon.”

1 Christina Malling Siggaard (Den) Team Virtu Cycling 
2 Alexis Ryan (USA) Canyon-SRAM Racing
3 Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Ita) Valcar PBM
4 Chloe Hosking (Aus) Ale Cipollini
5 Coryn Rivera (USA) Team Sunweb Women
6 Nina Kessler (Ned) Hitec Products-Birk Sport
7 Jeanne Korevaar (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling Team
8 Jolien D’Hoore (Bel) Mitchelton-Scott Women
9 Marta Cavalli (Ita) Valcar PBM
10 Audrey Cordon Ragot (Fra) Wiggle High6
11 Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Wiggle High5
12 Valerie Demey (Bel) Lotto Soudal Ladies
13 Janneke Ensing (Ned) Ale Cipollini
14 Jip van den Bos (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam
15 Chantal Blaak (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam
16 Julie Leth (Den) Wiggle High8
17 Lauren Stephens (USA) Cylance Pro Cycling
18 Ellen van Dijk (Ned) Team Sunweb Women
19 Thalita De Jong (Ned) Experza-Footlogix
20 Sofie De Vuyst (Bel) Doltcini-Van Eyck Sport