Driedaagse Brugge-De Panne

Driedaagse Brugge-De Panne

After a hectic race without a lasting breakaway Kirsten Wild (WNT-Rotor) won Driedaagse Brugge-De Panne in a bunch sprint. 

Crossing the line 7th Marta Bastianelli was the best placed rider from Team Virtu Cycling. After the race the Italian underlined that the team “rode an aggressive race and stayed together, but the final became too hectic.”

Team Virtu Cycling still has the World Tour-leaders jersey (Bastianelli) and the best young riders jersey (Bertizzolo), who also was priced as the most aggressive rider in yesterday’s race.

The team now looks forward towards the spring classic Gent-Wevelgem this Sunday, where not only the jerseys but also the title as last year’s winner has to be defended.


Team Virtu Cycling defending the title

With a victory this Sunday, Marta can become the first to win back-to-back titles in the Belgian Classic. It is thus a motivated line-up of riders on the start line this weekend.

Last year Bastianelli out-sprinted her competitors in a select group of around 30 riders. The flat terrain with small sharp hills like the mythical Kemmelberg, suits the classics-specialists with both endurance and raw power in a sprint.

The Team Virtu Cycling line-up for Gent-Wevelgem is Marta Bastianelli, Mieke Kröger, Anouska Koster, Barbara Guarischi, Christina Siggaard and Sofia Bertizzolo.